You are here

All-S.T.A.R. Fellowship

The Graduate All-S.T.A.R. Fellowships honor graduate students who are both outstanding scholars and outstanding graduate assistants.  This supplemental fellowship provides $10,000 stipend. 

Eligibility:  Eligible candidates are currently enrolled UMD graduate students who have held at least a half-time graduate assistantship (RA, TA, or GA) for at least two semesters (by the end of Spring18).  Also, the student selected must be returning as an enrolled student in AY 18-19 and must hold a graduate assistantship in Fall 18 and Spring 19.

Selection Process:  Colleges/Schools will select their Graduate All-S.T.A.R. Fellow or Fellows from eligible students enrolled in that college/school.  Students interested in being considered for this fellowship must contact their college for more information about the selection process.

College/School Deadline:  The College/School award selection(s) are due to the Graduate School using the Graduate School Awards System by Friday, April 20, 2018*.

*Eligible students must contact their college or department for their internal deadlines.


All-S.T.A.R. Fellowship Guidelines

All-S.T.A.R. College Nomination Cover Sheet  


AY 2017-18 Award Recipients

Aitalohi Amaize, Health Services Administration
Karin Assmann, Journalism
Stefan Bangerth, Mechanical Engineering
Cynthia Boruchowicz, Public Policy
Prateik Dalmia, Economics
Leila Duman, Chemistry
Nicholas Finio, Urban and Reginal Planning and Design
Delisa Hawkes, English
Tae Hyuk Keum, Counseling, Higher Education and Special Education
Wendy Laybourn, Sociology
Che-Wei Liu, Business and Management
Gongguan Liu, Veterinary Medicine
Matthew Mauriello, Computer Science
Brenna McNally, Information Studies
Elizabeth Tennyson, Materials Science and Engineering
Kevin Winstead, American Studies


AY 2016-17 Award Recipients

Zahra Ashktorab, Information Studies
Rebecca BlackMathematics
Kerry Li FangUrban and Regional Planning and Design
Tyler FrankelAnimal and Avian Sciences
Emilia  GuevaraAnthropology
Pallavi Guha Journalism
Fudong Han, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
John HartFamily Science
Miriam HiebertMaterials Science and Engineering
Irina Alexander IlesCommunication
Xu LiCounseling Psychology Program
Davin O'ReganPublic Policy
Ruth OsorioEnglish
Mustafa SahinDecisions, Operations & Information Technologies
Teddy Wilson, Criminology and Criminal Justice
Ashlee WilkinsAstronomy    


AY 2015-16 Award Recipients

Laurie Bracaglia, Bioengineering
Megan Brown, Animal and Avian Sciences
Sarah Bonnie, English
Marisa Franco, Psychology
Yurong He, Information Studies
Emily Hestness, Teaching and Learning, Policy and Leadership
Zafar Imran, Public Policy
Justin Hudson,  Journalism
Elijah Knaap, Urban and Regional Planning and Design
Taylor Miles, Fire Protection and Mechanical Engineering
Jessica Montresor-Lopez, Toxicology
Melissa Rogers, Women's Studies
Zachary Rowan, Criminology and Criminal Justice
Krista Smith, Astronomy
Tianshu Sun, Decisions, Operations & Information Technologies
Iadviga Zhelesinskaia, Geology